Step 8: Set Email Visibility Permissions

Your Gmail emails are synced into Copper as soon as you create your account (or as soon as you're added to it). The default setting ensures they're synced privately. While an Account Owner or Admin can always see all team members' synced emails in Copper, the private sync ensures fellow team members can't see each others emails.

As you saw when you added your team to Copper, the Gmail sync setting was checked. That means the new user's emails were synced into Copper privately.

You may have a business need to share this information among team mates.

In this module, we'll tackle the following:

First, let's get some context for what the Gmail sync with Copper actually does.

Understand the Gmail Sync

This is what happens when Copper syncs with your Gmail account:

  • Emails you send to or receive from Leads and People will appear in the activity feed associated with that record.
  • Emails you send to or receive from contacts who aren't yet in the system as Leads or People may cause them to be listed as Suggested Contacts.
  • Google Calendar events with Leads and People will appear in their Related Items section on that record.

The following settings are turned on by default, but can be turned off:

  • Sync tasks from Copper to your Google Calendar
  • Sync contact updates from Copper to Gmail. (Contact updates made in Gmail won't be synced back to Copper).

Define your desired email visibility

You know what the Gmail sync does. Now let's define who can see the emails coming into your Copper. You can kick this off by asking yourself a few questions:

1. Do you want all emails to sync private by default?

  • If yes, go here.
  • If no, each user will specify their default email privacy. Go here.

Screen_Shot_2019-07-29_at_9.55.44_AM.png

2. If you are the account owner, you can also specify if you'd like Admins to be able to see emails that have been marked private by other users. If you uncheck this box, Admins in Copper will respect the same privacy rules as users.

image.png 

Set emails to sync privately (default)

By default, emails sync privately into Copper. To access these default settings:

  1. Sign into your Copper account and click 'Settings.'
  2. Click 'Email Settings' under 'Preferences.'
  3. Scroll down to the 'Individual email visibility control (Admin)' section.
  4. Ensure the 'Mark synced emails public by default' box is unchecked:up3.png

Allow emails to sync publicly

There is no blanket rule that all emails come into the account with public visibility among team members. To protect each team member's privacy, you allow them to opt into sharing their emails publicly. 

As an Admin:

  1. Sign into your Copper account and click 'Settings.'
  2. Click 'Email Settings' under Preferences.
  3. Scroll down to the 'Individual email visibility control (Admin)' section:Screen_Shot_2017-12-18_at_2.20.22_PM.png
  4. Choose the 'Yes, users may specify their own default visibility (private by default).'

You've done your part. Now your team members can do theirs:

  1. User signs into their Copper account and clicks 'Settings.'
  2. User chooses 'Email Settings' under 'Preferences.'
  3. User scrolls down to the Email Preference section:Screen_Shot_2017-12-18_at_2.27.08_PM.png
  4. Check the 'Mark synced emails public by default' box. This is saved automatically. 

Note: This only syncs emails created after the Gmail sync was established. To import emails created before the sync, submit a ticket to our Support Team. When we grant the request, all emails from all users in your system will be public. 

Adjust visibility on individual emails

You just saw how to let your users set email visibility in bulk. There may be exceptions to those bulk rules. To adjust visibility on an individual email, follow the instructions below:

  1. Sign into your Copper account and click Leads, People, Companies or Opportunities.
  2. Click the name of the record in question. For example, if you opened People and are looking for a customer named "Jane Doe," click her name from the list of records. 
  3. You'll see any emails you've exchanged with the record in the Activity Feed:

Screen_Shot_2017-12-20_at_3.31.57_PM.png 

If the Padlock is green, it means the email is visible to your team. Click the lock to make the email private.

If the padlock is red, it means the email is not visible to your team. Click the lock to make the email public.

If the padlock is yellow, it indicates that another system user was also cc’d on the email, and they can see the email in Copper, too.

Advance to the next Topic: Add your Team Members

Was this article helpful? 7 out of 8 found this helpful