Add/remove a user with Company Users setting

AllPlans.png

If your business has employees, you'll likely want to add them to Copper. We recommend reviewing our Getting Started Guide to ensure your visibility permissions are in place before bringing your team on board. If you've already accomplished all of that, check out this setting for adding and making adjustments to your team!

In this article, we'll tackle the following:

Understand company user roles

Add a user

Remove a user

Understand company user roles

People who work out of your Copper account (aka your 'Company Users') can occupy one of three roles:

  • Account Owner - Can do and see everything in the account
  • System Admin - Can do and see everything in the account except Settings > Billing or Invoices
  • User - Has limited access to account settings

If we compare the Settings page of an Account Owner, Admin and User (in that order from left to right) we can see these differences:

Settings_Layouts_for_All_Plans.png

Add a user

It’s important to understand the difference between adding a User to Copper and adding a Seat to Copper.

  • If you’ve initially purchased 5 seats for your Copper account, you’ll need to fill those seats by adding a user.
  • If you’ve already added 5 users to your account that has 5 seats, and now you need to increase the total number of users you can add, you’ll need to increase your seat count.

By default, admins and users can invite new users to Copper. If you want to restrict this to just admins, check the 'Only allow System Admins to invite new users' box at the top of the Settings > Company Users page.

You must have an unused paid seat in your account before you can add a new user. To check, follow the steps below:

  1. Sign into your Copper account, and click 'Settings' from the left-hand menu.
  2. Click 'Billing' in the 'Account' section at the bottom of the list of settings.
  3. In the box at the left, you'll see how many seats you've paid for.
  4. You can add to your seat count using the drop-down menu, then click 'Apply.'

To add a new user (in any role) to your Copper account, follow these steps:

  1. Sign into your Copper account, and click 'Settings' from the left-hand menu.
  2. Click 'Company Users' under 'Manage Users.'
  3. Click the blue 'Invite New Users' button.
  4. In the box that appears, you'll see two required fields: 'Name' and 'Email':

Screen_Shot_2019-10-21_at_11.31.21_AM.png

Let's take a look at the optional fields and checkboxes to fill out:

  • Title - The professional title this person occupies at your company.
  • Team - The Team (and subsequent visibility) this person is part of.
  • System Admin - Check this box to make this person an admin. If unchecked, this person is a user.
  • Google Sync - Checked by default, this allows the user's emails, calendar events, contacts and docs to sync to Copper. In addition to their future Gmail correspondence, we'll sync emails from the last 90 days or up to 1000 emails (whichever happens first) when the user is created.
  • Data Export - Checked by default, this allows the user to export data from Copper to a CSV file.
  • Dropbox - Checked by default, this allows the user to sync files from their dropbox account.

5. Click 'Save' when you're done.

Remove a user

The process to remove a user from your account depends on the user's role in Copper.

To remove an account owner (you'll need to swap them out for someone else), please submit a support request

If you want to remove an admin or user, it's important to note that once you delete this person, their associated records, emails and activities will not be deleted. They will simply become unassigned. If you want to reassign the records they own to a new person, follow the sub-steps below:

  1. Sign into your Copper account, and click a record type (people, companies, opportunities, etc.) from the left-hand menu.
  2. Filter the record landing page by 'Owned by [name of outgoing user].'
  3. Check boxes for all the records owned by this person.
  4. Click the pencil icon above the list of records, and enter a tag. 
  5. Click the blue 'Update' button. 
  6. Repeat this for every record landing page so you capture everything that was owned by the outgoing user.
  7. Once the outgoing user has been deleted, filter each record landing page by the tag.
  8. Click the pencil icon and enter the new user's name in the 'Owner' field.
  9. Click the blue 'Update' button.

When you're ready to remove the admin or user from your system, take the steps below:

  1. Sign into your Copper account, and click 'People' from the left-hand menu.
  2. Click the name of the person you want to delete.
  3. Click the three vertical dots to the right of the user's profile, and choose 'Delete.'
  4. You'll be asked to confirm this deletion in a pop-up window. Click 'OK.'

You may also want to confirm your number of paid user seats in Copper after all this change. Do do so, follow the steps below:

  1. Sign into your Copper account, and click 'Settings' from the left-hand menu.
  2. Click 'Billing' in the 'Account' section at the bottom of the list of settings.
  3. In the box at the left, you'll see how many seats you've paid for.
  4. You can adjust your seat count using the drop-down menu, then click 'Apply.'

Still have questions?

Still have questions? Ask in our Community, and get answers from our Customer Success Team as well as fellow users.

Was this article helpful? 1 out of 1 found this helpful