Email Tracking

Our email tracking feature notifies you when your email was opened. It is available in the Copper web app and the Chrome Extension.

In this article, we’ll cover:

  1. How to Enable Email Tracking
  2. How to Disable Email Tracking
  3. Email Tracking Notifications
  4. Details About Email Tracking

 

How to Enable Email Tracking

First, make sure your Copper account was created with and is synced to your Gmail. The email tracking only works with Gmail accounts.

To track emails send from within Copper, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Copper web app and go to Settings > Personal Preferences > Email Settings & Templates.
  2. Under Email Preferences, select “Send and Reply from Copper.”
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page to the section “Email Open Tracking” and check the checkbox.

To track emails sent from Gmail, follow the steps above. Then, open Gmail and our Chrome extension. When you compose an email, you’ll see additional options beside the “Send” button. Check the checkbox to enable tracking on that email.

Screen_Shot_2020-09-10_at_10.17.48_AM.png

To see a list of all the emails you’re tracking, open the Copper web app and click on “My Tracked Emails” (the envelope icon) in the left navigation bar. Here, you can see a running list of your tracked emails, the recipients and contents, and the total number of opens.

Screen_Shot_2020-09-10_at_10.35.58_AM.png

 

How To Disable Email Tracking

To disable email tracking on all emails:

  1. Open the Copper web app and go to Settings > Personal Preferences > Email Settings & Templates.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the page to the section “Email Open Tracking” and uncheck the checkbox.

To un-track a specific email that you previously sent:

  1. Open the Copper web app and go to My Tracked Emails (the envelope icon) in the left hand navigation bar.
  2. Hover your mouse over the email you wish to un-track and click the trash can icon on the right hand side.

 

Email Tracking Notifications

You will receive browser notifications when an email open occurs.

To turn off these notifications, open your Copper extension settings in Chrome. Under “Extension Options,” check the box for “Turn Off Email Tracking Notifications.”

Note: This feature may be affected by any ad blocking software you have enabled in your browser. If you are not receiving alerts, please whitelist Copper or disable your ad blocker and try the email tracker again.

The browser notifications refers to the contacts in three ways:

  1. By name: If one person is opening the email, the notification will state their name.
  2. As “Someone”: The email was sent to multiple recipients, and one of them opened it.
  3. As “You or someone nearby”: This could refer to coworker on their computer or their phone, a contact on their phone, a contact using a non Gmail email address, or yourself on a different computer or on your phone.

 

Details About Email Tracking

Email tracking works by embedding an invisible tracking pixel inside of your email. Once the email is opened, this pixel sends a request to our servers to load the image so that we know the email is being opened.

Although this is the most reliable tracking method available, there are several instances that can comprise the accuracy of email opens while tracking:

  • We sometimes report false positives because we only filter views by IP address. If you open the email from a different IP address than the one you sent it from, Copper counts it as a view. This may happen if, for example, you open the email from your phone after sending from your computer.
  • Certain browsers or email clients might block images. If our tracking pixel is blocked, there is no way we can identify if an email is opened.
  • Gmail has different logic for loading images. It opens all images using its proxy server before the user actually opens the email. This may result in a false positive open count.
  • Some email clients (like Gmail mobile app) will load emails next to an email that is being viewed. This may cause us to register the pixel load as a view even if the recipient hasn’t viewed the email yet.
  • Certain email clients or local email servers will save emails with all of the content as soon as they receive them. This may again cause us to register a false positive since the tracking pixel will also be loaded prior to the recipient’s actual view.
  • Certain email clients (like older versions of Microsoft Outlook) will load the entire email when the user marks the email as read but not actually opened, which may again cause a false positive read count.
  • There are also tools/browser extensions that block tracking pixels deliberately by the choice of the recipient. (e.g. Clearbit or other Email Tracking Extensions)

 

Still have questions?

Still have questions? Ask in our Community, and get answers from our Customer Success Team as well as fellow users.

Was this article helpful? 1 out of 2 found this helpful